The Beginning of Always Review

First, a very big thank you to Netgalley and Patchwork Press for providing me with a Kindle version of this book to review! 🙂

Summary from Goodreads

Florence Reynolds never thought she’d see him again. Sure, she was moving to New York City after years abroad, but Alistair Blair was in a different stratosphere now. He had conquered the city, made a name for himself. The two of them were a long way from the dirt roads of their youth. Their individual paths had led in opposite directions, which was exactly as they had both intended.

They had both moved on. They had both tried to forget. Florence never wanted to see him again.

But when Florence’s editor gives her a high-profile article to write, an important cornerstone article interviewing Manhattan’s hottest businessman, Florence finds herself back in Alistair’s orbit, thrust suddenly into the uncomfortable present and the painful past that bind them together.

Secrets shared and never forgotten threaten to collide, and to ruin.

The Beginning of Always by Sophia Mae Todd  was released on July 7, 2016.

My rating: Five Stars. 30973972

First, if there’s one thing everyone should know about me is that I love second chance romances. So much. I think I would like any book if it had a second chance romance, even if I didn’t particularly like the characters. There’s just something about people who were once in love, who lost their way, then found themselves back together. It gives me hope that if things are meant to be, they will be.

Now, enough of my sappiness, and more about this book! I honestly loved it. I felt for all of the characters, especially Florence and Alistair. Their story was so great. It reminded me a little bit of Swear on This Life by Renee Carlino (My review here) which I enjoyed.

This book had a family aspect, absent mothers, getting dropped off with a dad you had never met before, and great friendships.I didn’t hate any one, which rarely happens because usually there’s at least one character I can’t stand. I felt for every one.

This book surprised me at the end. I was not expecting for it to go in that direction and I’m glad it did because it made me love it more. I’m being vague because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone, but the end had me in tears.

When I started reading this book, I was not expecting it to be so emotional and real. I’m glad it was.

I recommend this to any one who enjoys Renee Carlino and Colleen Hoover type books. Nothing in this story felt forced or hard to believe at all.

If you have kindle unlimited, this book is available! I’m planning on ordering my own paper back copy soon.

I hope you enjoyed this review!

Until next time, Sam

148623-taylor-swift-waving-gif-34gp


One thought on “The Beginning of Always Review

Leave a comment