Story Time With Sam: Gilmore Girls

Let’s type fast! Drink Coffee and eat Poptarts!

Hello fellow book lovers! Today I am taking a break from books to talk about something amazing. Something phenomenal. Something groundbreaking. A little something called Gilmore Girls!

Gilmore Girls premiered on the WB on October 5, 2000. I was only one at the time. The show was created by Amy Sherman-Palladinoย and stars Lauren Graham, Alexis Beldel, Scott Patterson, Kelly Bishop, Edward Herrmann and Melissa McCarthy, to name a few.

The main plot line of the show is the mother-daughter duo, Lorelai and Rory Gilmore, taking on their coffee addiction, over baring family and college applications. But it is so much more.

I first decided to watch Gilmore Girls for the first time in the fall of 2015. I was 16, almost 17, and looking for a nice hour-long drama/comedy to binge on Netflix. I got so much more.

In the span of a month, I watched all seven seasons. I fell in love with Luke Danes, the diner owner with the baseball hat and undying love for the loud woman who always comes in for food and coffee. Emily Gilmore, the most amazing and badass rich grandmother I will ever have the pleasure of watching. Richard Gilmore, the proud and old-fashioned grandfather ย who just wants what is best for his family.

This show is all about the characters. The townies, and the school girls. The crazy neighbors and the cute boys. Gilmore Girls didn’t rely on big plot twists to get viewers. People tuned in for seven years to watch their favorite characters go through life.

When the show ended in 2007, it didn’t get the proper goodbye. There was a problem with the network and the creators, so the Palladino’s ย didn’t get to give their show the ending they wanted.

Flash forward nine years. Netflix, the streaming service that introduced me to the show for the first time in my Junior year of high school, got the rights to give the fans and the cast what they wanted. A revival.

Gilmore Girls: A Year In the Life, is a four-part special, coming to Netflix on November 25, 2016. That’s right, these beloved characters are coming back! In two weeks, I will get to watch Luke and Lorelai and Rory. I will get to cry because the whole thing will make me so emotional. (I couldn’t watch the two-minute trailer with out bawling.) I’ve never had a show I love come back before Gilmore and I feel so happy that I get to experience this!

Now, we need to have an important conversation: Dean, Jess, or Logan. I hated Dean from the beginning. End of story. I really liked Logan, he reminded me off a Chuck Bass type character. He had his moments, but I really did, do, like him. But, Jess is where my heart belongs. I need them to work it out because they belong together. End of discussion. (I’ll try to be okay if they don’t end up together, as long as they are friends.)

I just got way off topic but everyone has a team. *insert shrug* But, everyone needs to watch Gilmore Girls right now. If you hurry, you can finish by the 25th of November!

Watch Gilmore Girls right now! Seriously, do it. Even if you’ve seen it before, watch it again! That’s what I’m doing right now.

Have you seen Gilmore Girls before? If so, talk to me about it! If not, go watch it then talk to me about it!

Once the revival comes out and a little bit of time has passed so I don’t spoil any one, I might post a review for each episode ๐Ÿ™‚

Until next time, Sam Gilmore. (a girl can dream)

giphy-23

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Story Time With Sam: Gilmore Girls

Leave a Reply

