This Is My Brain on Boys and Dreamology Review

I read two books that didn’t really affect me much so I’m doing two reviews in one!

First I read This Is My Brain on Boys by Sarah Strohmeyer! This book had been on my TBR for a while, since I saw it at the book store in May and loved the cover, but I was always wary on buying it because it has a low rating on Goodreads. (3.41 to be exact) A few weeks ago I impulsed bought it because why not?

Addie Emerson doesn’t believe in love. Not for herself, anyway. With one year left of high school, she’s more interested in snagging a full scholarship to Harvard than a full-time boyfriend.

That doesn’t mean she’s oblivious to the ways of the heart. Or, rather, the head. Because after months of research, Addie has discovered how to make anyone fall in love. All you need is the secret formula.

But will her discovery be enough to win the coveted Athenian Award and all its perks? (See above, full scholarship to Harvard.) Or will she be undone by Dexter, her backstabbing lab partner, who is determined to deep-six her experiments at their exclusive private school?

Those are the least of her problems now that she’s survived a death-defying flight with a mysterious, dark-haired boy, who has delicious chocolate-brown eyes and a few secrets of his own.

With an experiment to mastermind, an infatuated exchange student on her hands, and at least one great white shark (more on that later), can Addie’s prefrontal cortex outwit her heart? Or will she have to give in to her amygdala and find out, once and for all, if this thing called love is more than just her brain on drugs?

My rating: 3.5 stars. 26116425

Okay, this book was not perfect. The characters were flat and they had issues that weren’t fully resolved. But, the book kept me interested. I read it in a day because I wanted to know what in the world was going on. The main point of the book wasn’t fully explained; I got very tired of all the science talk. But, again, I kept reading which always gives a book an extra star because if it doesn’t keep me interested enough, I give up. I didn’t though!

If the summary sounds like something you’d like, then I’d try it. If you aren’t a fan of science talk, then I wouldn’t read this book. Also, the romance wasn’t a big part of the novel.

Next book!

Then I read Dreamology by Lucy Keating! This is another book that has been on my TBR shelf for awhile! I saw it on bookstagram in May then bought it in June. I just now picked it up in November. (shrugs)

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

When their dreams start to bleed dangerously into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

My rating: 3.5 stars.  25817310

Like the last book, this was not perfect. The characters weren’t developed and they acted like they were ten. But, I kept reading! Though in the last half I was skimming through because I was so baffled over what was going on. This was more of a middle grade book.

I was expecting more out of this book but I took it for what it was and enjoyed it regardless.

If you want a cutesy, innocent, fluffy book than read this one!

Two reviews in one post! Nice! I didn’t have much to say about these books because they were both kind of meh.

Have you read either of these books? What did you think?

Until next time, Sam.

tumblr_mdjo2zqsqg1rkxrduo2_500

Leave a Reply

